Invicta FC Phoenix Rising Series 1 Contestants

A new strawweight champion will be crowned at Invicta FC Phoenix Rising Series 1.

The event will host Invicta FC’s first-ever eight-woman, one-night tournament, pitting eight talented fighters against each other in a revolutionary tournament format.

The plan was for Mizuki Inoue, Janaisa Morandin, Danielle Taylor, Juliana Lima, Kailin Curran, Brianna Van Buren, Sharon Jacobson, and Sunna Dav Davíðsdóttir to compete in the eight-woman tournament.

However, complications surrounding the weight cuts of Mizuki Inoue and Janaisa Morandin forced them to withdraw from the event. Reserve athletes Amber Brown and Manjit Kolekar stepped in to replace Mikuzki and Morandin.

Invicta FC Phoenix Rising Series 1

  • One five-minute round in quarterfinals and semifinals
  • Final will be three five-minute rounds
  • Minimum 30 minutes recovery time bell-to-bell between fights
  • Quarterfinal fighter with the quickest finish picks next opponent

Invicta FC Phoenix Rising Results


  • Brianna Van Buren def. Manjit Kolekar by submission (armbar) – Round 1, 3:20
  • Juliana Lima def. Danielle Taylor by split decision (9-10, 10-9, 10-9)
  • Kailin Curran def. Sunna Davíðsdóttir by split decision (10-9, 9-10, 10-9)
  • Sharon Jacobson def. Amber Brown by unanimous decision (10-9 x3)

Reserve Bout

  • Alyssa Krahn def. Itzel Esquivel by split decision (9-10, 10-9, 10-9)


  • Kailin Curran def. Sharon Jacobson by unanimous decision (10-9 x3)
  • Brianna Van Buren def. Juliana Lima by unanimous decision (10-9 x3)


  • Brianna Van Buren def. Kailin Curran via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 2, 3:49

Invicta FC Phoenix Rising Highlights



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *